Scorpion woman

This morning I went into the hospital a bit tired after watching batman for the second time last night, but nonetheless ready for a day of saving lives. It’s boring but, it’s my life. So a few of us headed to minor while the rest went to major. In minor we have 2 nurses who work with us. 1 is called Mia, who is lovely and can always be won over with a little smile to hunt down some gauze. The other is an incompitant joke, who’s day-to-day activities consist of sitting, texting and sitting. occasionally she will summon the effort to scowl at us, but that’s about it. I shall simply refer to her as ‘Scorpion woman’. 

As we begin to take the dressing of the guy who we debrided the previous week, scorpion woman comes in hollaring how i’m  using the wrongbin for waste. Fair enough, however wastegoing into the incorrect binhappens on several occasions throughout the day and it is the least of the hospitals problems. As we begin toclean she keeps ranting so Ijust ignore her. Meanwhile, the matron comes in and begins to join in the tirade of awful medical advice. I apologies to the patient and say i’ll be back in a minute. So me, the  matron and scorpion woman go outside to talk.

I say in no uncertain terms how i’ve seen nurses and doctors a like sit and do nothing while the students are expectedto do everything. Yes, things like suturing, dressings and abscess can in theory be done by us provided there are no issues prior to doing so. But it does not grant the nurses a bit of down  to catch up with their mates for an hour or so. The lack of urgency shown by 99% is sicking. Afterarguing back and fourth I get a bit fed up of repeating myself and try to end the ‘discussion’ by shaking scorpion woman’s hand accompanied with a very sincere “Let’s try and work together while we’re here. No hard feelings?”. Lucky for me she is feeling a bit more energentic today and musters up one of her trademark scowles. My heart swells with warmth…

The matron has  a point about sterlie conditions and that yes in an ideal world I should have been using the appropriate bin. The only issue I have with this is the inconcistency of rules when itcomes tobeing sterille. Some people  who need a dressing changed get a fortress of sterility, while others must simply suffer with nothing. I’ve let Isaac know our thoughts and he’s going to see what he can do.

We’re planning to have a few drinks by the pool tonight and prepare for safari. I’m absolutely buzzing for it!!! I did my shopping for it today but I fear it may be a little light…

Image

About joelmccay

4th year Medical student at Southampton and pig aficionado.

One response to “Scorpion woman”

  1. Mrs Linda Smyth says :

    well Joel what can i say, i`v just read all your blogs, and the work your doing there has just blown me away, that cheeky nurse sounds like a right c**t. hope your ok son. keep up the good work. xx

Leave a comment